To Top

JUNO Awards Winner Roundup

This past weekend's JUNO awards honored today's most loved artists, celebrating the past year's accomplishments in artistry. Televised via CTV, the show held performances from talents including Alessia Cara, Shawn Mendes, The Weeknd and plenty more.

The well deserved awards went to...


Artist of the Year

The Weeknd (WINNER)
City and Colour
Justin Bieber
Shawn Mendes


Breakthrough Artist of the Year
Alessia Cara (WINNER)
Coleman Hell
Francesco Yates
Scott Helman
Tobias Jesso Jr.


Fan Choice Award
Justin Bieber (WINNER)
Alessia Cara
Carly Rae Jepsen
Cœur de pirate
Dean Brody
Shawn Hook
Shawn Mendes
The Weeknd
Walk off the Earth




Songwriter of the Year
Abel Tesfaye - "Can't Feel My Face,""In the Night," "The Hills" from Beauty Behind the Madness by The Weeknd (WINNER)
Béatrice Martin - "Carry On", "Crier tout bas", "Oceans Brawl" from Roses by Cœur de pirate
Buffy Sainte-Marie - "Farm in the Middle of Nowhere", "Ke Sakihitin Awasis (I Love You Baby)", "Love Charms (Mojo Bijoux)" from Power in the Blood by Buffy Sainte-Marie
Dallas Green - "Blood", "Lover Come Back", "Wasted Love" from If I Should Go Before You by City and Colour
Tobias Jesso Jr. - "When We Were Young" from 25 by Adele; "Alive" from This Is Acting by Sia; "Without You" fromGoon by Tobias Jesso Jr.


Producer of the Year
Bob Ezrin - "Honey Honey", "What Love Is All About" from What Love Is All About by Johnny Reid (WINNER)
Dallas Green (co-producer Karl Bareham) - "Lover Come Back", "Wasted Love" from If I Should Go Before You by City and Colour
Henry "Cirkut" Walter - "Locked Away feat. Adam Levine" (co-producer Lukasz "Dr. Luke" Gottwald) from What Dreams Are Made Of by Rock City; "Sugar" (co-producer Joshua "Ammo" Coleman) from V by Maroon 5
Steve Webster & Emilie - Claire Barlow - "La Llorona", "On a Clear Day" from Clear Day by Emilie-Claire Barlow
Thomas "Tawgs" Salter - "Bungalow" from Augusta by Scott Helman; "Rule the World" (co-producer Gianni Luminati) from Sing It All Away by Walk off the Earth


Recording Engineer of the Year
Shawn Everett - "Don't Wanna Fight", "Gimme All Your Love" from Sound & Color by Alabama Shakes (WINNER)
Gus van Go - "Downtown", "Sweet Disaster" from Leave No Bridge Unburned by Whitehorse
Liam O'Neil - "Celebrate", "The Governess" from Pagans in Vegas by Metric
Noah "40" Shebib - "Jungle", "Know Yourself" from If You're Reading This It's Too Late by Drake
Serban Ghenea - "Can't Feel My Face", "In the Night" from Beauty Behind the Madness by The Weeknd


Album of the Year
The Weeknd, Beauty Behind the Madness (WINNER)
Drake, If You're Reading This It's Too Late
Jean Leloup, À Paradis City
Justin Bieber, Purpose
Shawn Mendes, Handwritten


Electronic Album of the Year
Pomo, The Other Day (WINNER)
AM Static, A Life Well Lived
Concubine, Concubine
Discrete, The Midas Touch
Humans, Noontide


International Album of the Year
Adele, 25 (WINNER)
Hozier, Hozier
Meghan Trainor, Title
One Direction, Four
Vance Joy, Dream Your Life Away



Pop Album of the Year
Justin Bieber, Purpose (WINNER)
Hedley, Hello
Scott Helman, Augusta
Shawn Mendes, Handwritten
Walk off the Earth, Sing It All Away


Single of the Year
The Weeknd, "Can't Feel My Face" (WINNER)
Alessia Cara, "Here"
Drake, "Hotline Bling"
Justin Bieber, "What Do You Mean?"
Ria Mae, "Clothes Off"


Dance Recording of the Year
Keys N Krates, "Save Me" feat. Katy B (WINNER)
A-Trak, "We All Fall Down" feat. Jamie Lidell
Autoerotique & Max Styler, "Badman (Torro Torro Remix)"
Borgeous & Lights, "Zero Gravity"
Sleepy Tom & Diplo, "Be Right There"
*"At All" by Kaytranada was originally nominated in this category, but later review discovered that it was originally released outside the eligibility period and it was replaced on the nominee list by "Zero Gravity".


R&B/Soul Recording of the Year
The Weeknd, Beauty Behind the Madness (WINNER)
Alessia Cara, Four Pink Walls
August Rigo, The Fall Out
Dru, "Déjà Vu"
Patrick Lehman, Butchy's Son


Rap Recording of the Year
Drake, If You're Reading This It's Too Late (WINNER)
BADBADNOTGOOD & Ghostface Killah, Sour Soul
Kardinal Offishall, Kardi Gras, Vol. 1: The Clash
k-os, Can't Fly Without Gravity
SonReal, For the Town


Video of the Year
"Hello" - Adele; Xavier Dolan (WINNER)
"Virgins" - Death from Above 1979; Eva Michon
"Dark Days" - PUP; Jeremy Schaulin-Rioux and Chandler Levack
"For the Town" - SonReal; Peter Huang
"Avalanche" - Kalle Mattson; Philip Sportel

Written by GrooveVolt